Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  

Our Partner For Official online store of the Phoenix Suns Jerseys

 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Monday 11 December, 2006 at 4:00 PM



      13-16 year and Overall Grand Prize Winner Kris Liburd from Charles Secondary.   
    (Basseterre; St. Kitts): St. Kitts Sea Turtle Monitoring Network and UNESCO Small Island Voice 2006 Sea Turtle Poster Competition Awards
    Basseterre, 12 December, 2006
    The 2006 Sea Turtle Poster Competition winners were awarded by The St. Kitts Sea Turtle Monitoring Network and Small Island Voice, Saturday, December 09, 2006 at Basseterre High School. 
    The 2006 Sea Turtle Poster Competition was launched in order to promote awareness of sea turtles on St. Kitts.  Competition information was delivered to each primary, secondary and high school in the Federation early in September. 
    The posters were created to promote the Sea Turtle Monitoring Network's Hotline, a phone number to call if a concerned citizen sees sea turtles in distress or being harmed.  The Hotline will be launched in December.  Posters will be displayed island wide. 
    14 schools participated in the competition and 190 entries were received from youths aged five to 16 years.  Students were instructed to promote the theme: "Promoting Awareness of Sea Turtles in St. Kitts and Nevis."  ~~Adz:Right~~
    Participating schools included: Molineux Primary, Montessori School, Irish Town Primary, Lyn Jefers, Charlestown Secondary, Washington Archibald High School, Dieppe Bay Primary, Sandy Point Primary, Beach Allen Primary, Ross Preparatory School, Saddlers Primary, Bronte Welsh Primary, Estridge Primary, and Tucker Clark Primary. 
    9-12 year Winner Terrenci Versailles from Sandy Point Primary.
    The ceremony was officiated by Kimberly Stewart of Ross University; Austin Jay Farier, chair of UNESCO Small Islands Voice Environmental Subcommittee; Antonio Maynard, Secretary-General of St. Kitts & Nevis National Commission for UNESCO; and Kathleen Orchard, the WIDECAST Country Coordinator. 
    From the youngest category of five to eight years: the winner was Denicia Phipps from Irish Town; the runner-up was Kshaughan White of Sandy Point Primary. 
    In the nine to 12 year category: the winner was Terrencia Versailles of Sandy Point Primary; the runner-up was Jayda Joseph of Beach Allen Primary. 
    The final category, 13 to 16 years: the Overall Grand Prize Winner was Kris Liburd also from Charlestown Secondary; the runner-up was Pearl Bergan from Charlestown Secondary. 
    5-8 year Winner Dencia Phipps from Irish Town Primary.
    All winners were awarded prize packages along with their teachers. 
    Sponsors for the prize packages included: Digicel, Kenneth's Dive Center, Ross University-School of Veterinary Medicine, Touch Body Center, Internet Café, Rock Lobster, Glass Island, Subway, Sensational Shoreline Plaza, Internet Café, Oasis Café, Athlete's Foot, Just for Kids, Caribbean Gift and Liquor, and the Movie Theatre.
    For further information on the St. Kitts Sea Turtle Monitoring Network:
Copyright © 2023 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service