Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
Click Here For More Information...
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Tuesday 3 October, 2017 at 1:57 PM

David upsets Goliath in inaugural Constituency Seven Community Football League

Chairman of the C7CFL Organising Committee Lenworth Harris (right) presenting the cash award to the Captain of Christchurch Alex Charles
By: Peter Ngunjiri, Press Release

    BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, October 2, 2017 (PLP PR Media Inc.) -- The inaugural Constituency Seven Community Football League (C7CFL) concluded on Sunday evening October 1 in a dramatic climax with the smallest community in Constituency Number Seven, Christchurch, defeating the largest community and the hot favourite, Tabernacle, in penalty shoot-out 4-3.


    The league started on Sunday August 13, and all matches were played on the Ottley’s play field. There were 30 matches throughout the tournament and they were all well supported by the communities of Ottley’s to Tabernacle-Bellevue. There were eight teams in the competition, namely Ottley’s, Lodge Ballers, Lodge Youngsters, Bourryeau, Molineux, Christchurch, Mansion, and Tabernacle. 
    The final which was played on Sunday October 1 under floodlights was very well attended and supported, reminiscent of any major tournament. The crowd was quite clearly treated to some chilling and highly spirited football that eventually ended 1-1 at fulltime and then 4-3 in penalty shoot-out, with Christchurch emerging the winners.
    C7CFL, which is sponsored by the Area Parliamentary Representative, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris who is also the Prime Minister of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, aims at fostering community togetherness. The shock winners walked away with the Dr Timothy Harris trophy and $2,500 first prize cash award, with Tabernacle taking the second place and $1,500 and Lodge, in the third place, receiving a cash award of $600.
    Presentation of trophies and cash awards was done by Chairman of the C7CFL Organising Committee Mr Lenworth Harris who thanked all the teams that participated and the many spectators who turned up for all the 30 matches that would have been played since Sunday August 13 when the league started.
    “It (C7CFL) has signalled to all of us that the size of your community does not matter,” said Mr Harris when he announced that Christchurch had won the 2017 C7CFL Championship Trophy. “It is your togetherness and your heart.”


    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers. 
Copyright © 2017 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service