Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Tuesday 20 November, 2018 at 1:30 PM

2018 National and Regional CXC Awardees

Ms. Daria James
By: MoE, Press Release

    (EMU) – St. Kitts, November 19, 2018 -- The Ministry of Education is pleased to announce that the Most Outstanding Female Candidate both regionally and nationally for CCSLC is Ms. Daria James. Ms. James also produced the Most Outstanding Performance Overall in the May-June 2018 Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examinations for St. Kitts & Nevis.  


    Ms James was among students in the Federation who displayed impressive academic abilities in the May/June examinations of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC).

    Daria attained ten (10) Grade 1 passes and will receive her award(s) at the 50th meeting of the Opening of Council and Regional Top Awards Ceremony in St. Vincent on Thursday December 6, 2018.  

    In addition, the Most Outstanding Male Candidate for CCSLC in the Federation is Mr. Ni’Quone Nicholls. Both Mr. Nicholls and Ms. James were students of the Washington Archibald High School.  

    Mr. Tairique Davis of the Basseterre High School was declared the first runner-up for the Most Outstanding CSEC Performance Overall in the Federation and Ms. Tecoya Warner of the Charles E. Mills Secondary School, second runner-up.  

    The 2018 National state scholar is Mr. Khale Thomas, CXC has provided the Scholarship Rank Order Listing which is based on candidates’ performance on the 2017 and 2018 CAPE. Candidates are ranked by the highest number of Grade 1 passes obtained in seven qualifying units and then other criteria in the event of a tie. 

    The rank order is as follows

    1. KHALE THOMAS Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College 
    Eight (8) Grade 1 passes

    2. ROL-J WILLIAMS Nevis Sixth Form College 
    Eight (8) Grade 1 passes

    3. RONICIA LIBURD Nevis Sixth Form College 
    Seven (7) Grade 1 passes

    In keeping with tradition, the state scholar will receive a scholarship for undergraduate studies for up to four (4) years in the amount of USD 25, 000 per annum. The Runner-up state scholar will receive a scholarship of similar duration but the amount granted is USD 14, 000 per annum. 
    Following the release of the awardees, Local Registrar, Mr. Soloman Claxton expressed his congratulations to the students and teachers who sat Examinations this year. “I wish to also congratulate the students and lecturers at the Nevis Sixth Form College and the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College, Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies and the various High Schools for their diligence in most instances that has contributed to another year of sterling performance by our students. I also commend their parents for their support.”

    The Ministry of Education extends congratulations to all awardees on their achievement and best wishes as they pursue further studies.

    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers
Copyright © 2020 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service