Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Tuesday 28 May, 2019 at 6:49 PM

MoE guarantees teacher input on National Curriculum and more at Annual Zonal Meeting

By: MoE, Press Release

    (EMU) – St. Kitts, May 28, 2019 -- Although the Ministry has embarked upon a national curriculum review with the aid of Canadian consultancy, MindBloom Consulting, local teachers input and expertise is welcomed and warranted in July when the writing of the new curriculum is set to commence. 


    This announcement was made at the Annual Basseterre Zonal meeting for teachers on Monday 27th, May at the Sir Cecil Jacobs Auditorium.  
    The first zonal meeting featured an informative presentation from, Dr. Neva Pemberton, Chief of Education Planning on ‘Improving Student Success: Enhancing Curriculum and Assessment and Teaching and Learning.’ Dr. Pemberton’s presentation focused on school improvement and sustaining efforts while building capacity of students.  
    She also spoke to the goals of the Federation’s five-year Education Sector Plan for 2017-2021, as it relates to teachers.  She revealed that UNESCO and the government of the Federation have already come to an agreement in which the organization will provide assistance with regards to professionalising the teaching force and other goals in the Education Sector Plan. 
    Giving remarks at the meeting, Mr. Darryll Lloyd, Chief Education Officer stated, “These meetings serve as one way to improve schools by enhancing teaching and learning, as well as building a collaborative society.” 
    Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Vincent Hodge delivered an overview of the years major achievements entitled ‘Rebuilding Reputation & Resilience,’ the presentation gave insight into new and ongoing initiatives of the Ministry. 
    The final presentation came from representatives of the Human Resources Department and included topics such as punctuality and the various types of leave from office.
    As customary, the teachers took the opportunity to ask questions and air their concerns as it relates to the performance of their duties.  The panel included Minister of Education - Hon. Shawn Richards, Permanent Secretary – Mr. Vincent Hodge, Senior Assistant Secretary- Dr. Tricia Esdaille, Chief Education Officer – Mr. Darryl Lloyd and Deputy Chief Education Officer – Mrs. Debbie Isaac. 
    The East and West Zone discussions will be held on Wednesday 29th and Thursday 30th May at the Sir Cecil Jacobs Auditorium.  


    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers
Copyright © 2020 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service