Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Saturday 12 October, 2019 at 12:23 AM

Eleven more students benefit from the Susanna Lee High School Scholarship Award

By: SSB, Press Release

    BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, 9th October 2019 — In its 36th year, eleven (11) students were inducted into the Susanna Lee High School Scholarship on Tuesday 8th October 2019 in a ceremony held at the Social Security Headquarters in Basseterre. 


    The scholarship program will benefit the following students from first to fifth form and onto local colleges upon acceptance.


    Jahzieon Gift             Basseterre High School
    Terrencia Wiggins     Cayon High School
    Ayana Meade           Charlestown Secondary School  
    T’ Quan Jules           Charles E. Mills High School
    Aaliyah Elliott           Gingerland Secondary School
    Alisha Jalim             Saddlers Secondary School  
    Shaniqua Davis       Verchilds High School  
    Tideja Liburd           Washington Archibald High School  
    Jadea Williams       Charles E. Mills High School (one?time assistance)
    C’Quinya Dasent    Charles E. Mills High School (one?time assistance)
    Nyahla Maccabee   Saddlers Secondary School (one?time assistance)
    Ms. Jacqueline Brookes, Board Member, Mentor and Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee, delivered the Welcome Remarks. In her remarks, Ms. Brookes admonished the new students to remain focused, make the right decisions and shine like they have never shun before. Ms Brookes also proudly announced the results of CSEC passes and congratulated the students and parents for their efforts and continued commitment towards education. She made special mention of recent CFBC Graduate, Ms. Ryana Powell who has recently launched her own cosmetic line, lauding her leadership and entrepreneurial skills.
    Social Security’s Director, Mr. Antonio Maynard, in his remarks, expressed his satisfaction with the offerings of the Scholarship Program, citing its Mentorship component as the pinnacle for developing fully rounded young minds and shaping future leaders. The Director took the opportunity to thank the Scholarship Committee, the Mentors and entire support staff for their involvement with the student and management of the scholarship program. Mr. Maynard implored the Board, to extend the scholarship’s offerings further to provide grants that are specifically targeted to attract interest in such areas in the field of medicine and nursing. This investment in
    education, he expressed will contribute even further to the sustainability of the Fund.
    Following the Director’s remarks, Senior Minister and Minister of Social Security et al, the Hon. Vance Amory addressed the gathering.  Hon Amory re?emphasized the Board’s expectation for the students to remain diligent in learning, commit to making the right decisions and exercise a willingness to be disciplined in their areas of study. The Honorable Minister expressed profound commendation to Ms. Susanna Lee, after whom the Scholarship is named for her steady involvement over the span of the award’s existence.  
    During the ceremony, alums Mr. Lufkin Foster and Ms. Jackie Peets delivered remarks on the impact of the Social Security Scholarship on theirlives. In addition to the monetary assistance, the former recipients spoke of the visits to their schools by their respective mentors, workshops and social events organized by the Board for the scholars’ holistic development.   
    New inductee, Ms. Alisha Jalim of the Saddlers Secondary School, in her expression of appreciation thanked the Social Security Board for its active role and promise to support her educational journey. The young scholar spoke of the hardships previously experienced and how this support would help her achieve her lifelong goal of becoming a teacher.  
    Certificates of Induction to the new awardees were presented by Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee, Ms. Jacqueline Brookes while Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Mr. William Hodge, presented certificates to the alumni who have recently completed High School. A symbolic signing of the Commitment Agreement was completed by the parents/guardians of the awardees thereby committing to support their child/ward’s learning.
    The program was ably chaired by Social Security Legal Officer, Mr. Leon Charles. The Invocation was delivered by the Acting Manager of the MIS Department, Mr. Abendigo Rogers while the Vote of Thanks was delivered by Administrative Assistant, Ms. Shiwani Gumbs.
    Since 1983, the Social Security Board has offered High School Scholarships to students with great potential and whom without the necessary support may not achieve their educational goals. The Alumni now stands at 212 with Social’s Security direct investment
    amounting to over $2.2 million towards the education of our youths.
    Congratulations to our High School Scholars for recording the following CSEC passes:  
    Zwena Jones          Gingerland Secondary School  
                                   14 subjects, 6 distinctions  
    Jakie Peets             Verchilds High School  
                                   12 subjects, 5 distinctions
    Breandra Liburd      Charlestown Secondary School  
                                   11 subjects, 4 distinctions  
    Tyrique Harris         Saddlers Secondary School  
                                    10 subjects, 4 distinctions  
    Shanice Buchanan   Charles E. Mills Secondary School  
                                    10 subjects, 3 distinctions  
    Aamira Williams       Washington Archibald High School  
                                      9 subjects, 4 distinctions  
    Joel Springer           Cayon High School  
                                     9 subjects, 2 distinctions  
    Glenesha Hobson    Basseterre High School  
                                     9 subjects, 2 distinctions  

    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers



Copyright © 2020 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service