Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  LATEST NEWS
Posted: Thursday 19 November, 2020 at 9:46 AM

PM Harris hosts #7 Domino League prize giving ceremony on Sunday November 22

Prime Minister, and sponsor of Constituency Number Seven Domino League, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris (3rd left), pictured with the victorious Tabernacle Domino Club, the 2020 champions and their supporters
By: Peter Ngunjiri, Press Release

    BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, November 19, 2020 (MMS-SKN) -- A grand prize giving ceremony to be held on Sunday November 22 at the Edgar Gilbert sporting Complex pavilion in Molineux brings down the curtain on the 25th edition of the country’s longest running domino league, Constituency Number Seven Dr the Hon Timothy Harris Domino League.
    “League sponsor, Prime Minister and Area Parliamentary Representative for Constituency Number Seven, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris, will preside over this year’s prize giving ceremony which will be held on Sunday November 22,” announced President of the league’s Executive Committee, and League Coordinator, Mr Calvin Farrell.
    He added: “We will have a packed and entertaining afternoon which will start with an exhibition domino game between two female teams. One is a team from Newton Ground, and the other will be made up of female players from the various clubs in the Constituency Number Seven Domino League. The winner will get four cases of drinks. After that game we will have a three-hand competition involving all the teams in the league.” 
    The ceremony which takes place from 1:00 pm will see the new champions, Tabernacle Domino Club, walk away with the championship trophy and a cash prize of $5,000. In a hard fought competition, Tabernacle who had returned to the league after a two-year hiatus overcame the other thirteen teams in the competition to earn the title for the first time.
    At the end of the round robin stage, which due to Covid-19 protocols that were in place saw all games played at three venues, Phillips Domino Club finished at the top. However in the last four play-offs they found themselves in the fourth position.
    Immediate past champions, Parsons Domino Club, did not feature in the last four and neither did they qualify to play in the Best of the Rest competition on grounds of having forfeited one of their games.
    “The second placed team in this year’s competition, Unity Domino Club, will receive a cash prize of $3,500 for their gallant effort,” said Mr Farrell. “Lodge Domino Club will receive $2,500 for the third place, while for the fourth position Phillips Domino Club will receive $2,000.”
    Other cash prizes, according to Mr Farrell, will be awarded to the three top winners in the Best of the Rest competition, to include $800 for this year’s champions, Small Corner Bar Domino Club; runners’ up Sylvers Domino Club will receive $600; and third placed Unstoppable Domino Club will receive $400. Phillips Domino Club will receive an additional $400 for having led at the end of the round robin stage.
    “There will be other consolation prizes, some to be given out by friends of Constituency Number Seven Dr the Hon Timothy Harris Domino League, which will be made known at the prize giving ceremony on Sunday,” said Mr Farrell. “All other teams will receive two cases of drinks of their choice.” 
    Fourteen teams took part in this year’s Constituency Number Seven Domino League. They were Tabernacle Domino Club, Unity Domino Club, Lodge Domino Club, Phillips Domino Club, Small Corner Bar Domino Club, Parsons Domino Club, Molineux Domino Club, Christ Church Domino Club, Saddlers Domino Club, Mansion Domino Club, Sylvers Domino Club, Unstoppable Domino Club, Guinness Domino Club, and Giants Domino Club.
    “Looking at the last twenty four years, this twenty-fifth year I think has been the best year I have seen for such a long time, and I wonder if it is because of the Covid why the teams them stepped up with their masks and their uniforms and really put all out to be where they are now,” remarked President of the league’s Executive Committee, and League Coordinator, Calvin Farrell.





    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers


Copyright © 2021 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service