Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  SPORTS
Posted: Wednesday 30 December, 2020 at 1:12 PM

Windies squad announced for Bangladesh Tour

By: Staff Reporter,

    ...COVID concerns force 10 players to withdraw


    BASSETERRE, St. Kitts - WITH just over a week left before the touring party arrives in Bangladesh for a series, Cricket West Indies has announced the squad that would travel to the Asian country.


    However, the squad will be made up of a number of new faces, and old faces who have not represented the Caribbean side for many years.
    That comes as 10 senior West Indies players have opted not to travel to Bangladesh, including the Test Captain Jason Holder and One Day Captain Keiron Pollard.


    Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich have all opted to miss the series due to COVID-19 concerns, Cricket West Indies announced in a media statement.


    CWI announced that the players were given the opportunity to opt out of the tour under the Board’s COVID-19 policy which will not affect their selection for future tours.
    The Test squad will be led by the experienced Kraigg Brathwaite, with Jermaine Blackwood standing in as vice-captain. And for the ODI’s, West Indies A team captain, Jason Mohammed will lead the team with Sunil Ambris as vice-captain.


    Commenting on the selection of the two squads, Chief Selector Roger Harper explained: “Kavem Hodge will be on his first tour with the team. He has been around for a few years and has made a case for himself and he now gets his chance. The fact that he also bowls left arm spin has certainly helped his cause. We also have Kyle Mayers and Shayne Moseley, who have both toured with the team to England and New Zealand as reserves, being selected in the Test Squad for the first time. Moseley coming off successful ‘A Team’ games in New Zealand and Mayers who has performed well in each of the CWI regional tournaments and also the CPL, over the last year."
    Harper spoked to the addition of Kjorn Ottley into the ODI squad for the tour: “The absence of several more experienced players has certainly provided an opportunity for the left-handed Kjorn Ottley who has had a good Super50 tournament last year. He will be very keen to make his mark. Tours of Bangladesh are never easy as they always play well in their own conditions. Although a number of the senior players are missing in both formats, I expect our teams to be very competitive. I expect our players to play with purpose, with passion and with the desire to prove that they belong at this level.”


    Listed below is the full squad for the Bangladesh tour:


    Test: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican.
    ODI: Jason Mohammed (captain), Sunil Ambris (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.



Copyright © 2021 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service