Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  SPORTS
Posted: Tuesday 27 April, 2021 at 12:16 PM

SKN to host entire CPL Tournament

By: Staff Reporter,

    50% capacity allowed at all sport events
    BASSETERRE, St. Kitts - THE Government of St. Kitts and Nevis was granted the approval for the entire hosting of the 2021 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) tournament at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium.
    That announcement was made this morning (Apr. 27) by Minister of Sport Jonel Powell at a CPL press conference, where he reminded of the relationship between St. Kitts and Nevis and the cricket organisation.
    “Yesterday, the Federal Cabinet of St. Kitts and Nevis approved the hosting of the entire 2021 CPL tournament here in St. Kitts and Nevis to be held at Warner Park in Basseterre, St. Kitts. We look forward to the tremendous economic benefits that will flow from having the entire tournament held here,” Powell announced.
    The Minister also announced that the Federal Government has approved the renewing of the hosting agreement with the CPL for the St. Kitts-Nevis Patriots franchise, ensure that the team would be in the Federation for the next five years.
    Highlighting that the shorter format of the game has rejuvenated cricket in the region, Powell asserted that it has brought a new demographic to the sports discipline. 
    With the Federation only recording 44 cases to date, Minister Powell declared that as of May 15, sport events would be allowed to have 50 percent capacity at venues around the two islands. 
    This is being done with the view of the staging of the Caribbean Premier League, which would only allow fully vaccinated people to attend the games at Warner Park.
    “Those patrons will have to be fully vaccinated with an approved COVID-19 vaccine. This will extend to all sporting events and include CPL,” the Minister explained.
    Powell expressed confidence that the Federation could hold a successful tournament in a “grand fashion”.
    CPL’s COO, Pete Russell confirmed that all 33 games would be played at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium, beginning on August 28.



Copyright © 2021 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service