Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  
 Home  >  Headlines  >  SPORTS
Posted: Wednesday 5 May, 2021 at 1:33 PM

Chase, Hetmyer, Paul out of Windies new round of contracts

Shimron Hetmyer against Bangladesh 2019 ( Photo by the International Cricket Council)
By: Staff Reporter,

    BASSETERRE, St. Kitts -  CRICKET WEST INDIES (CWI) has released its new round of Centrally Contracted players and three key players have been booted from the list for 2021/2022.


    Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul and Roston Vase are the notable names absent from the new list released this morning (May 5) by CWI.


    CWI in a media statement said 18 players have been offered contracts for the upcoming 2021-22 season that will run from July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022.


    Most of the players on the list are those from the successful tour to Bangladesh, including first timer Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Akeal Hosein and Kyle Mayers. They have been awarded International retainer contracts, whilst newly appointed Test Captain Kraigg Brathwaite and Darren Bravo receive International contracts for red ball and white ball cricket, respectively.


    West Indies Men’s Team Lead Selector, Roger Harper said contracts were offered to 18 players, a decrease of four from last year with Jason Holder being the only player to retain his all-format contract “due to his strong Test and T20I performances during the evaluation period”.


    “There are several new players offered red ball contracts earned by their strong performances during the last period. A number of players were not retained because they did not meet the minimum requirements,” Harper added.


    Commenting on the selection of the retainers, CWI Director of Cricket, Jimmy Adams said, “I know that the 11 players who have lost their International retainers will be striving and fighting hard to get back into the teams and earn their central contracts back next year. These players, along with our T20 specialists, will ensure that we have genuine competition for places that will push everyone to attain higher standards of performance.”



    All-Format Contracts: Jason Holder.


    Red Ball Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner*, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva*, Shannon Gabriel, Kyle Mayers* and Kemar Roach.


    White Ball Contracts: Kieron Pollard, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein*, Evin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, Nicholas Pooran and Hayden Walsh Jr.


    Players who are no longer receiving international retainer contracts are:


    All Format Contracts: Roston Chase.


    Red Ball Contracts: Shamarh Brooks and Shane Dowrich.


    White Ball Contracts: Sunil Ambris, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd and Oshane Thomas


    All players who are no longer on International retainer contracts are offered an A* grade Regional Franchise Contract for the following year.



 Similar/Related News Articles...
Posted: 11-May-2021
Guyana Cricket Board calls for clar...
Copyright © 2021 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service