Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  

Our Partner For Official online store of the Phoenix Suns Jerseys

 Home  >  Headlines  >  ENTERTAINMENT
Posted: Friday 10 November, 2023 at 10:00 AM

19 to compete for Junior Calypso Crown

By: Staff Reporter,

    BASSETERRE, St. Kitts - WITH the Junior Calypso Monarch Competition set to celebrate its 50th edition this year, the St. Kitts-Nevis National Carnival Committee (SKNCC) has announced that 19 participants would be vying for the crown.


    This year’s event, which is slated for December 8, will be two-fold, with competitors emerging from the Primary and Secondary Schools Calypso Monarch Competitions.


    “This year, the National Carnival Committee will be celebrating 50 years of the Junior Calypso Monarch competition and it is our pleasure to advise that entry to this captivating show will be entirely without charge. This year's 50th Anniversary production will be a true celebration of creative expression, featuring 5 primary school junior calypsonians, aged 9-12, and 14 secondary school calypsonians, aged 13-17,” the NCC said in a media statement.


    The competition has been described as a success over the years, and, according to the NCC, the “exceptionally talented youths are gearing up for an electrifying showdown of amazing talent”. 


    This platform has been used as a launch for many of the talented Calypsonians gracing the senior stage.


    Competitors from the Primary School level are Primary School Calypsonians Princess Kali (Aleijah Hendrickson), Prince Khi (Amaro Roland), Prince DJ (Devon-J Richardson), Lady Faith (Raynecia Hodge), and Mighty (Zenobia Johnson).


    Those from the Secondary School level are Lady B (Aaliyah Buchanan), Dequon (Dequon Hendrickson), Divi (Divonique Liburd), Mighty J (Edward Williams), Energetic I (Ilovely Pemberton0, Junior Jazz (Jazzelle Connor), De Herald (Moving Anthony), Princess Al (Na'Aliyah Smithen), Star Boy Nicholas (Nicholas Petty), Mighty QJ (Quincy Issac), Erastus (Rajaun Fyfield), Mighty H (Rayjaun Hodge), Princess Nevaeh (Shante Hendrickson), and Lega-Z (Zyon Harding)


    The organizers had rescheduled the event from December 8 to December 10, which will be staged at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort Plaza.


Copyright © 2024 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service