Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  

Our Partner For Official online store of the Phoenix Suns Jerseys

 Home  >  Headlines  >  NEWS
Posted: Friday 31 May, 2024 at 8:28 AM

Cricket West Indies Announces Squad Update for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: Obed McCoy Replaces Jason Holder 

By: Cricket West Indies, Press Release

    ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – Cricket West Indies (CWI) today announces a key update to the West Indies squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Jason Holder has been ruled out of the tournament due to an injury and left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy has been named as his replacement.


    While Jason Holder's absence is notable, CWI is confident that the team remains strong and competitive with the inclusion of McCoy. Holder's injury, sustained during the County Championship 2024, will require a recovery period, and the team's medical staff will provide all necessary support to ensure his swift and complete recovery.


    Dr. The Most Hon. Desmond Haynes, Lead Selector of CWI, shared his thoughts on this development: "Jason is an experienced player in our set-up. His absence will undoubtedly be felt both on and off the field. We look forward to having a fully fit Jason with us again soon."


    Dr. Haynes continued, "While it is unfortunate to lose a player of Jason's calibre, we are confident in the abilities of Obed McCoy. Obed has shown remarkable skill and promise in his performances, and this opportunity will allow him to further showcase his talent on the international stage. We believe he will bring a fresh and dynamic energy to the squad."


    The final West Indies squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be


    Rovman Powell (Captain)
    Alzarri Joseph (Vice Captain)
    Johnson Charles
    Roston Chase 
    Shimron Hetmyer
    Shai Hope
    Akeal Hosein
    Shamar Joseph
    Brandon King
    Obed McCoy 
    Gudakesh Motie
    Nicholas Pooran
    Andre Russell
    Sherfane Rutherford
    Romario Shepherd


    In addition to the main squad, five reserve players have been named, ready to step in if needed. These reserves are:


    Kyle Mayers
    Matthew Forde
    Fabian Allen
    Hayden Walsh 
    Andre Fletcher 


    Head Coach Daren Sammy expressed his confidence in the reserves, stating, "We are fortunate to have such depth and quality in our ranks. Our reserve players are all A-class talents who have proven their abilities in various formats of the game, but certainly T20. Each one of them is fully capable of slotting into the team seamlessly should the situation arise."


    The Selectors Panel has noted Obed McCoy's inclusion based on his impressive form over the last year. Known for his left-arm pace and skilful variations, particularly at the back end of the innings, McCoy was the leading wicket-taker on the West Indies team’s recent tour to Nepal.


    CWI extends its best wishes to Jason Holder for a speedy recovery and looks forward to his return to the field.


    West Indies is in Group C of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The team will play its first match on June 2 in Guyana against Papua New Guinea.






    This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers


Copyright © 2024 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service