Javascript Menu by

SKNBuzz Radio - Strictly Local Music Toon Center
My Account | Contact Us  

Our Partner For Official online store of the Phoenix Suns Jerseys

 Home  >  Headlines  >  SPORTS
Posted: Monday 3 June, 2024 at 4:14 PM

ICC increases prize money for T20 World Cup

    CASTRIES, St. Lucia -- THE International Cricket Council (ICC) announced an increase in prize money for the ongoing Men's T20 World Cup 2024, with the winners set to receive the highest amounts ever paid out by the sport's governing body.


    On Saturday (June 1), the ninth edition of the tournament commenced in the United States. This year’s event will feature an expanded roster of 20 teams, competing over 28 days across nine venues in the Caribbean and the USA, making it the largest event of its kind.


    According to an ICC media statement, the runners-up will pocket at least $1.28 million, while the losing semi-finalists will take home $787,500 each. Additionally, teams not advancing past the second round will receive $382,500 each, and those finishing between ninth and twelfth place will get $247,500 each. Teams finishing between thirteenth and twentieth place will each earn $225,000. To further incentivize victories, the ICC revealed that every team will receive an extra $31,154 for each match won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.


    ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice remarked on the event's historic significance, saying, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an 'Out of This World' event.”


    Games will be played across Barbados, Guyana, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, and St. Lucia in the Caribbean. In the United States, Dallas, New York, and Florida will host the matches.


    This year’s tournament will feature 40 matches in the first round, leading to the Super 8s, followed by the semi-finals in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final match will take place at the mecca of cricket in the region, the Kensington Oval in Barbados.


Copyright © 2024 SKNVibes, Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy   Terms of Service